[Review] Chocolat-Syndrome

16 Aug

Here we go again. Another girl group has debut this year. Chocolat (apparently pronounced shau-co-lah, my, aren’t we fancy?) initially garnered attention due two of their members being “bi-racial”. With the name “chocolat”, many had assumed that said three members would be of African-American descent, but it was not so. The three are half-Korean, half-American.  I also thought it might be an interesting dynamic if the group had some sort of Western influence. Of course, I was disappointed yet again.

With the release of their title track “Syndrome”, we get to see that the girls of Chocolat do not do much to differentiate themselves from other girl groups. Though they stated 2NE1 as their role models, both the song and the members are far from fierce.

Min Soa (Leader)

The song itself is decent; it’s a fun and catchy dance track. I didn’t find anything remarkable about the vocals with the exception of Jae-Yoon (the blonde one), who is the lead vocalist. The rest of them sounded a wee bit squeaky (I am not surprised seeing as their average age is 18.9).

Tia

I liked that their dance moves were slick and clean. The group stated that they practiced for 12 hours a day for 2 years and it really pays off.

Juliane

The MV itself is nothing spectacular and focuses more on the individuals’ faces over a flashy set. I was not so pleased at how the majority of the close ups were of a single member (Tia), though I’m sure she is a great person, I never think it’s fair when one member of a group gets 90% of the screen time and the other members divide the rest.

 Jae-Yoon (Lead Vocalist)

I was pleasantly surprised that the group doesn’t have a rapper. It seems to me that 90% of KPop groups feel as though it is mandatory to have a rap in every song. Although I like rap, I’ve heard too many awkwardly placed ones in songs that have no need for rapping.

 Melanie (Maknae)

I think Chocolat has the potential to be succesful. They shy away from the norm just the teensiest bit, and I hope to see what they will accomplish in the future!

If you want to get to know the girls better, check out this YouTube clip of them introducing themselves in their practice room here

Side Note: One would think that with three members who are fluent in English, the lyrics of this song wouldn’t have such bad English: “Appeal me again”? What does that even mean??

*Our reader Robin pointed out that the girls were actually saying “Heal me again” not “Appeal me again” like I thought the were saying!

Temi

4 Responses to “[Review] Chocolat-Syndrome”

  1. Robin August 20, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    it actually is ‘Heal me again’ instead of ‘appeal me again’ ^^

    • dramapop August 22, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      Hi Robin! Wow, I didn’t even realizing they were saying that! Thanks for noticing!
      Temi

  2. Brittany August 30, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    I had high hopes for this group too. I thought they’d be different but they ended up being too plain for me. Like I’ve heard it all before.

    • dramapop August 31, 2011 at 2:10 am #

      Hi! Thanks for commenting! And yea, they kind of just blend in with all of the other girl groups that have debuted recently. I did think that their dancing was above average, but besides that, I totally agree, they’re pretty much the norm. =p

Leave a Reply

