[Review] KARA-Step

7 Sep

First of all, I am really happy that KARA was able to get over the whole disbanding issue and come out with a chart-topping single this year. I have never really been a huge fan of KARA, but I loved their transformation for “Lupin” and also even though I hate to admit it, “Jumping” is one of those songs that I always sing because it is just so catchy!!

The girls of KARA released their new single “Step” recently. Check out the official MV below!

Alright, so it’s not anything ground breaking. The same concept has been done before, but there’s a reason why so many artists use it. It’s colorful, it’s fun, it’s catchy, and the dance moves are the right amount of crazy/funny to be awesome. I mean, come on, where else can you bright yellow sneakers, pink jumpsuits, neon tights and rainbow tassels all within 3 minutes?

As usual, Nicole is super badass in this video, and as usual, Goo Hara is super overdramatic and cheesy.

The random transition from the bright club scene to the soft, pastel colors kind of threw me off a little bit, but it wasn’t anything major.

All in all, I liked it. It was fun and bright, which is exactly what the girls needed after all the depressing talk about breaking up the group. I don’t think it was as groundbreaking as it could have been, but it was a good comeback nonetheless.

Rating: 4.0/4

One Response to “[Review] KARA-Step”

  1. Geordan Johnson (@JordanJordan4) September 8, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I do agree with you in that its not anything mind blowing, but I think its a nice comeback and I think it fits their style, especially the choreography, I just hope promotions go well for them. I do think it could have been a little more vocally challenging, since I feel thats needed in the kpop world now, but I think they will show how hard they worked for this comeback when we see the live performances

Leave a Reply

