2 Couples To Leave “We Got Married”

9 Sep

Alright, so it has just been announced that couples David Oh and Kwon Sae Ri, and Nichkun and Victoria (more commonly known as Khuntoria) will both be leaving the popular variety show We Got Married.

This news is bittersweet to me (David&SaeRi=Bitter, Khuntoria=Sweet).

For those who are unfamiliar with the show, We Got Married is a variety show that pairs a male and female celebrity as a “married” couple. They perform various duties as husband and wife such as moving into a new home, buying furniture, raising “kids” and just getting closer to each other over time.

With some couples, the dynamic is hilarious and adorable, and with others…not so much.

When I first heard that Victoria and Khun would be a couple on the show, I was pretty excited because Victoria is one of those quirky idols who are really fun to watch on TV. I was NOT ready for the over the top romancefail that is also known as Khuntoria.

The two had me cringing with embarrassment for them. And you know it’s a bad sign when you the viewer is cringing for the actually people on TV.  Every time I watched, a got this feeling of general annoyance with Nichkun’s seemingly fake view of romance, and Victoria’s baby-voiced whining.

David Oh and Kwon Sae Ri were two names that were unknown to me before the show. They are both contestants on an American Idol-style TV show called Birth of a Star. Though I have only watched a couple of episodes, I am already enjoying the adorable-ness of these two. Unlike the Khuntoria couple, they seem really realistic in their relationship.

They both were really natural with each other, it was easy for me the viewer to see their character traits, good and bad. For example, when someone asked if Sae Ri if she would actually date David, she said she wasn’t sure. Most other people would have been like “OF COURSE!!! WE’RE THE PERFECT FIT!” but it was refreshing to see that she didn’t hide her feelings. The same goes for David; he didn’t try to be super romantic or super masculine and that was something I appreciated.

For those of you who are WGM fans, this is a sad goodbye, but I look forward to who the next couples will be!!

 If you haven’t watched this show, I would recommend you start with the Adam Couple (translated to “Small Couple”) which is comprised of Jo Kwon from 2AM and Ga In from Brown Eyed Girls. The two are both very strong-willed and their interactions will literally have you rolling on the ground laughing)

Temi

2 Responses to “2 Couples To Leave “We Got Married””

  1. Alice September 9, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I watched WGM2 on and off, but I didn’t really like Khuntoria for some reason. You really described the reason well. I totally felt like that, too.

    David Oh and Kwon Sae Ri? They sound cute!

    My favorite couple was Seohyun and Yonghwa (Sweet Potato/Goguma couple). They were so cute together!

    I saw an episode a while back where they were introducing 2 new couples. What did you think of the couples? It was T-ara’s Eunjung with some actor guy, and UEE (Afterschool) with some older guy.

    • dramapop September 10, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      Thanks for commenting! David and Sae Ri are totally adorable! and my favorite couples are the Adam Couple (Ga In and Jo Kwon) and the Lettuce Couple/HwangBo Couple. Well, Eun Jung has been on WGM for a while now, and while she’s an adorable person, I wasn’t really feeling the dynamic between her and her “husband”. And UEE was on a long time ago, but I never really watched those episodes!

Leave a Reply

