[Review] Brown Eyed Girls-Sixth Sense

22 Sep

I seriously don’t think I’ve ever been more excited for a comeback as I was for the Brown Eyed Girls (hmm, well maybe for Big Bang). But my anticipation was to the extent that I forced one of my friends to stay up and text me the moment the album came out. The Brown Eyed Girls are a quartet who debuted back in 2006 and released albums in 2008 and 2009.

clockwise from r-l: Narsha, Ga-In, JeA, Miryo

Comprised of leader JeA, rapper Miryo, and vocalists Narsh and Ga-In, the Brown Eyed Girls are one of the most talented girl groups in KPop. With the release of their hit song “Abracadabra”, the girls skyrocket to fame. They’ve been virtually absent from the KPop scene for the past few years, which makes their comeback that much more exciting. Their new album Sixth Sense has 6 new tracks one interlude, and one instrumental. Enjoy the review!!

Track List

  1. Swing It Shorty (Intro)
  2. Sixth Sense
  3. Hot Shot
  4. La Boheme
  5. 불편한 진실
  6. Lovemotion
  7. Countdown (Interlude)
  8. Vendetta

Swing It Shorty (Intro)

I am so impressed with this intro. Unlike the intros of a lot of albums that have been coming out recently, this intro intrigues the listener, showcases vocal talent, and stimulates excitement for the rest of the album. Swing It Shorty has a sound that I have literally never heard in KPop; think of the Swing Era in the 1930’s, complete with a loud drum line, trumpets, and saxophones. JeA’s awesomely recognizable voice starts out the melody, and then Narsha and Ga In layer their voices to create these super cool choral patterns.  I love the intro, it’s new and it’s different.  Also, how awesome is it that the song ends with applause?

 

Sixth Sense

Seriously, this is why I love Brown Eyed Girls; they’re so fierce and at the same time they don’t compromise their vocals. The contrast between JeA’s aggressive style and Narsha and Ga-In’s delicate ones is so intriguing. It feels like it shouldn’t work, but it has in the past and continues to do so. The song is dominated mainly by JeA’s powerful voice. Her style fits the song perfectly, her adlibs are attention-grabbing and her technique is perfect, even at the super high registers where most singers fail. I legit got goosebumps listening to the chorus. Miryo has always topped my Badass Rappers list, but she takes her raps to a whole new level in Sixth Sense. I am not sure who exactly composed and produced this song, but whoever it was is a genius. The production is so clean cut and it is obvious that he or she has a full understanding of the 1930’s musical time period but added his or her own touch.

 

Hot Shot

Hot Shot was released a few days ago as a teaser of the album. I was definitely impressed with the song (I even made it my Facebook status lol). It is kind of like a toned-down version of Sixth Sense and is slightly reminiscent of Ga-In’s solo song Irreversible”. All of the girls kill it on the vocals and raps. One thing I’m noticing on this album is that even when the one of the girls is singing, there are always some awesome backing vocals going on. While it’s normally pretty easy to bypass the backup vocals in order to listen to the main vocalist, I’m finding it difficult to focus on one or the other. They’re both always so amazing! I’m not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing, but I do know that I love it. The last line is so badass “Keep the change” =)

 

La Boheme

In La Boheme, we get a different style from the first three songs. It’s a slower-paced fast song (if that makes any sense at all), and has a more calming feel to it (most likely because the pounding drums and trumpets were substituted for lighter synths). I’m not so sure if I like this song yet; even though the vocals are amazing as always, I feel like its lacking substance, structure or something else. Maybe this is due to the fact that the verses and chorus sound almost the same. My favorite part of the song was Miryo’s raps in the middle and end.

불편한 진실

This was a really beautiful song. Both the vocals and instrumentals had this really tragic feel to it. I’m not sure what the title or the lyrics translate to, but it seems as though it’s the narration of someone who’s found out that their significant other is cheating or something. I don’t really have much to say about the song, but it is definitely worth the listen.

 

Lovemotion

5 minutes into the song, I got really scared that it would turn out to be the classic, cutesy girl group song. Fortunately, it was not so. I really dug the minimalist feel of the instrumentals; it highlighted the vocals, which were great as usual. What I didn’t like about the song was how repetitive it was. There were just too many “na  na na’s” for me I guess. It still is a good song, but gets kind of boring halfway through.

 

Vendetta

Yay! We’re back to the badass-osity that I normally associate with Brown Eyed Girls. While sticking to the same 30’s big bang style, the song had an edgy, rockish feel to it which is great because it shows of how versatile the girls are. The random change in tempo and style halfway through the song totally threw me off, but it’s an interesting component to the song. Vendetta is a great example of how an album should close out: with a bang.

 

Sixth Sense is one of the best albums (probably THE best) I have heard this year. Of course I am biased because I am a really big BEG fangirl, but even from a stranger’s perspective, I think that Sixth Sense is an album deserving of a 5/5.

I can confidentlay say that this genre of music (30’s swing) is one that hasn’t really been explored in KPop. It is for this reason that I think the Brown Eyed Girls are going to stand out against the barrage of girl groups coming back this month. So much work was put into this album. They have been working on it for years, and it really shows. They even were ready to comeback twice this year, but scrapped both albums because they felt it wasn’t good enough. Compared to their past single such as Abracadabra or even Sign, it is highly apparent that the girls’ vocals have improved gigantically.  While JeA was always amazing, she got even better, and Narsha and Ga In really expanded from the generic sound they used to produce. I also noticed throughout this album, that the members of Brown Eyed Girls often sing together. What I mean by that is in KPop, you can normally only hear one main voice at a time. In Sixth Sense, the girls are constantly singing in harmony, perfectly in sync with each other.

I am cheering the girls on, and I can’t wait until their live performances! What do you think of their comeback?

Rating: 5/5

Don’t forget to purchase the girls’ album here

 

Temi

One Response to “[Review] Brown Eyed Girls-Sixth Sense”

  1. Ihla September 23, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    You forgot to review “Countdown”. Yeah, it’s just an interlude but it sounds pretty bad-ass.

Leave a Reply

