[Album Review] Fever’s End Part I-Tablo

21 Oct

Welcome Back Tablo! Who’s excited? I’m excited. Are you excited? You should be excited.

Check out our review of Part II of the album here!

After joining YG Entertainment, home of artists such as Big Bang, Gummy, and 2NE1, Epik High’s leader, Tablo, decided to debut as a soloist with his new album “Fever’s End”.  For some odd reason, YG decided to stretch Tablo’s solo debut over two albums, so the second one will be coming out on November 1st of this year. “Fever’s End” contains 5 tracks, one of which (“Airbag”) he released a few days earlier. The album boasts an extensive list of guest artists such as Bumkey, Naul, and Lee Sora.

Tracklist

1.       Home ft. Lee SOra

2.       It’s Bad ft. Jinsil

3.       Airbag ft. Naul

4.       The Tide (scratch by DJ Friz)

5.       Try ft. Bumkey of 2Wins

Onto the review!

1.       Home ft. Lee Sora

This is seriously Tablo, KPop, and music at its best. I am finding it hard to compare “Home” to any other song that I have heard before. The instrumentals, the lyrics, the vocals, the rapping, everything is at its element here. Tablo is known for his poignant lyrics but I think here, he really showed off his technique and expertise. I found myself getting goosebumps at some lines, especially the ones: “This is my home. Leave me alone” I seriously got even more shivers during Lee Sora’s chorus. It was so beautifully haunting especially with her deep voice. The sudden change in tone halfway through the song kind of threw me, but it made the song even more touching and significant. Definitely a dynamic start to the album.

2.       It’s Bad ft. Jinsil

I think “It’s Bad” might be one of my favorite songs on the album. (Actually, I think I’ll be saying that for all of the songs…) Epik High always went with the minimalists tone in most of their previous songs, and Tablo continues the trend here. This technique really gives the listener the ability hear voices without all the distraction of synths and vocal backing. I loved the staccato, separated rhythm of this song. It’s especially prevalent in the chorus with Jinsil repeating “Love is so bad” in both Korean and English.

And how awesome are the lines: “Love is a sickness, can I get a witness”?

3.       Airbag ft. Naul

We reviewed “Airbag” previously so check out the post here

4.       The Tide (scratch by DJ Friz)

The Tide” definitely reminded me of something that indie artists Tearliner would produce. It was calm, kind of soothing, and a bit repetitive. I didn’t like this song as much as I did the other songs in this album. The sea sounds kind of distracted me, and I wasn’t really feeling the random narrative throughout the song. It’s not a bad song, just a kind of a forgetful one.

5.       Try ft. Bumkey of 2Wins

I was really excited when I saw that Bumkey was featuring in this album. He previously lent his gorgeous voice to Epik High’s “Fool” so it was nice to see a familiar face. The tone of “Try” (also translated as “From the Inside Out”) is similar to that of Fool but here, Tablo’s raps are more dynamic, less passive than his former ones. Also, I didn’t hear until the third listen, but the beat in this song is really, really awesome.

I loved this album. It’s definitely going on my top albums of 2011 list. Although I still am a bit skeptical of why Tablo would debut as a soloist under YG when he could just do it under the company he helped start, but that’s beside the point. YG stated that Tablo penned the 5 tracks of this album during the time when he was under fire from netizens and fans who though that he had fabricated his education at Stanford University.  Although all the criticism was false, it was evident that Tablo went through a tough time then. The 5 songs of Part II are said to be written during happier times, so I am looking forward to them!

Rating 5/5

Temi

Support Tablo by purchasing his album on either iTunes or YesAsia

Also, if you would like to know the translation to these lyrics check out this pretty cool blog here

7 Responses to “[Album Review] Fever’s End Part I-Tablo”

  1. Kenny Park October 23, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    I cant help but notice that this post seems somewhat biased towards Tablo. it’s also laughable how the writer praises a rhyme like “This is my home. Leave me alone”, and “Love is a sickness, can I get a witness”

    • dramapop October 23, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      Hi Kenny! Thanks for commenting 😉
      As this is a personal blog, it can only be expected that all of our posts here will have some sort of bias. We tend to write about things we feel strongly about (both positively and negatively)
      Also, you may think these lyrics seem “laughable”, but you should read them in context here (http://dramapop.com/2011/10/22/lyrics-to-tablos-fevers-end/). It might change your perspective on things
      Temi

  2. eppson October 25, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    really nice review!!! I feel like so many people enjoy this album.. it just provides a slice of humanness that really resonates with peoples’ emotions.
    I also adored “Home”. I had trouble describing its beauty, it really is just stunning. It’s just so nice to hear from Tablo again.

    once again, wonderful review, I would love it if you could check out mine as well!!

    • dramapop October 27, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks for commenting! I totally agree and I’m definitely looking forward to the second part of the album!
      And I read your review, great stuff!

  3. MaJo October 30, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    100% with you! this is the best album of this year jejeje, i’m so happy that Tablo is back =3 and i can’t say what’s my favorite song because i loved all of them XD

    bye~

    • dramapop November 1, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      I had a hard time trying to figure my favorite as well. I think I’m deciding between “Bad”, “Home”, and “Expired” 😉

  4. Nikki January 30, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    You know, I do agree that the song “Home” gives the creeps. It’s really cool, although it is like some of the other k-pop songs with rap verse and a featuring artist for the chorus, it’s just different in a very cool way. Like although I don’t understand the meaning i feel like I do. it’s just too striking. And it gives off the other side of reality… of some sort. hahaha. well goodluck. oh and thanks for this so much. It helped a lot. ^^

Leave a Reply

