[Review] Tablo-“Fever’s End Part II”

31 Oct

Check out the review of Part 1 here

Part 2 of Tablo’s debut solo album “Fever’s End” was released!

First of all, From YG’s past statement, I was expecting that this half of the album would have a slightly, I don’t know, happier tone. The songs were great, a bit strange at times, but definitely worth the listen. One thing I was scared of was that after signing with YG, Tablo’s style would change completely. Thank goodness, I don’t have anything to worry about, but I did notice that Tablo is a lot more creative, both musically and lyrically, in “Fever’s End”.

Onto the review!

 

Tracklist

7.       Tomorrow ft. Taeyang

8.       Trace (Scracth by DJ Tukutz)

9.       Dear TV

10.   Thank You for Breathing ft. Yankie & Bong TaeGyu

11.   Expired

Tomorrow ft. Taeyang

I felt like this was definitely more a showpiece than any of the other tracks off of this album. It was an explosive track, with a driving beat and a really gorgeous piano line. Tablo’s raps were pretty powerful, a nice contrast with Taeyang’s smooth voice. You can also check out their live performance of this track here. It was nice to see to see a little bit of YG Family love here (even though I would much prefer a showcase of Epik High’s Family Love…)

Trace (Scratch by DJ Tukutz)

DJ Tukutz is back! It’s like a mini Epik High reunion haha J. I really got the feel of old school Epik High with “Trace”. I was nice to see things switched up from the really mellow vibe from the majority of songs off of this album.

Dear TV

I’m not gonna lie. I was a little blown away by “Dear TV”. I’m still deciding on whether this track is musical genius or just straight up weird. The lyrics were really harsh and poignant in juxtaposition of Tablo’s dull tone of voice. The rap starts out “Dear TV, desensitize me. Give me more genocide please.” And ends with “Don’t act like you know me ‘cuz you recognize me, you sell my record, not me.”

Seriously speaking, I think Tablo is one of the few artists who can release a track that only has 35 seconds of rap but still is emotionally moving. “Dear TV” probably is not a track that will suit everyone’s taste. Hell, I’m not even sure if I will be downloading it. Check it out for yourself and see what you think.

Thank You for Breathing ft. Yankie & Bong TaeGyu

Yay for an upbeat song! I really liked this song (debatably one of my favorites off this volume of the album). Epik High and Tablo have a penchant for getting some really awesome featuring artists on their tracks. “Thank You for Breathing” has a little bit of a mainstream feel while simultaneously playing around with acoustic instrumentals. Me gusta mucho.

 

Expired

Expired” is the perfect closure to a fantastic album. I always love when Tablo sings, but this song is so calming and peaceful. It has a kind of melancholy and lonely sound to it that for some reason makes me feel expectant of the next album that he releases.

Rating: 4.6/5

What do you think?

If you want to the check out the lyrics to this album trying going musictology.wordpress.com

Temi

 

6 Responses to “[Review] Tablo-“Fever’s End Part II””

  1. kylemon November 1, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    Absolutely love your reviews that you mentioned all the details of every songs.

    • dramapop November 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      We’re glad you like our reviews! Thanks for reading!
      😉

  2. Myaaaaaa November 3, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Hi! i chanced upon your review. am a great fan of Tablo and have been yearning for his album. so I’m absolutely happy with his comeback..all his music feels so warm the moment i hear it. thumbs up for the review. (=

    • dramapop November 7, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Hi! Thank you so much! I’m a big Tablo fan as well (you probably noticed since I wrote like 928490 articles on Tablo hehe) 🙂 I was waiting for his album for such a long time so now I’m super happy that it was released.

  3. John December 8, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Dear TV is musical genius. It’s Tablo. It’s a song so intricate and meaningful, that I can’t even figure out all the allusions. Geffinize, for example, has no clear definition. Upon much, much searching, I have found it means something to the effect of selling out, or going from a harsh, edgy sound to a bubble gum pop sound. It has to do with a record company, or something of that sort (Geffen records?). This is just one word. There’s a lot to these lyrics, and it takes a lot of unpacking to truly appreciate them.
    It might not be everyone’s taste. It’s purpose is not to be pleasing or enjoyable to the ear, but to affect and move the heart, soul, and mind of the listener. One might say that songs such as Dear TV are Tablo at his best.

    And the other songs on the album are of a similar quality!
    I found Tomorrow to be the weakest track in Part II, however, it is still quite amazing. It is obviously meant for marketing (a PV, the radio, TV, etc), and tailored a bit to fit this purpose. Every album has songs such as these. I would describe them as surface songs. I do not necessarily mean to criticize Tomorrow, but to further praise the other songs on Part II.

    Trace, of course, is classic Epik High :). Both in musical composure, and lyrical content. A stunning track, which brings back a lot of nostalgia for an Epik High fan :P.

    Thank You for Breathing, too, is a wonderful track. It can be truly appreciated when analyzed in the context of Tablo’s recent experiences, and provides a lot of insight into how he has handled and overcome his obstacles. There is a lot to be taken from this song. How to cope and heal, appreciating the little things in life, being less cynical, etc.

    I find Expired interesting in the way it contrasts with the previous track, Thank You for Breathing. The lyrics to Expired express great fears and struggles Tablo must deal with. Although the music is quite calming and soothing, the lyrics end the album on a sad note. Perhaps in context of the previous track, it can be taken as, “While yes, I have healed and am learning to enjoy life again, I still am struggling with great fears.” One could also analyze the lyrics of the track in and of itself, which gives a bit different perspective on the song.

    -John,
    Epik High fan in Dallas, TX, USA

  4. Nikki January 30, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    I think you don’t have to be Tablo’s fan or even a k-pop fan to like these wonderful songs. 🙂 If you feel it, you’re good. :))

Leave a Reply

