College Diary #10: Thirsty Thursdays

6 Nov

This week was kind of a hell week for me. I had three tests; a paper; and lots of tutoring. I barely slept for more than 5 hours a night all week. Despite the amount of work I had, I decided to drink on Thursday.

Yes, I was drunk on a weekday. It’s quite a strange thing to do given that I had my huge Macroeconomics exam the next day. I leave work around 5 and when I got back to my dorm, I went to my next door neighbor’s room and started pouring that sweet grape-flavored Bacardi vodka and let sink in. Ah the magic of vodka.

Let’s just say, I wasn’t in the right mindset on Thursday and everyone around me knew it. Apparently, I smelled like alcohol and everyone basically smiled at me when they passed by as if passing by judgment and shaking their heads. The funny thing is that I had to tutor someone in Econ that same night and it only worked for about an hour or two before I gave up. My mind was screwed and everyone knew it.

In fact, I was so thrashed that studying was just not cutting it for me. By 12 PM, I was already experiencing what seems to be a hangover…At night…I was starting to get a headache and be sensitive to light and sound. So with barely any time to look at my notes, I went to sleep.

The next morning, I woke up at 6 to study for my Economics test. I skipped first period to have an extra hour of studying and then off to take that exam. I’m so sure that I did well on that test that I don’t even need to worry about it all.

But at least I can check Thirsty Thursdays off of my college cliches. For American University though, i still have to do Thirsty Tuesdays (since a lot of people don’t have classes Wednesdays). And also, lesson learned: people judge you when you’re the only one drunk on a Thursday night right before a big Exam. Just saying.

–Clarence

Leave a Reply

