Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Big Bang Songs

8 Nov

To celebrate the reunification of Big Bang and also their awesome win at the European Music Awards, our Top Ten Tuesday will be our Top Ten Big Bang Songs!

Haru Haru

Any time I hear Haru Haru, I always think that the track is such a musical masterpiece. Everything about the songs works together to form my absolute favorite Big Bang song. The rapping, the vocals, and the instrumentals are all on point. It’s great how the song combines a sorrowful tone with an up tempo beat. Definitely worth a listen if you haven’t heard the song before. It’s also worth a listen if you’ve already heard 28 million times. Just saying.

Stay

Stay is arguably one of the prettiest songs I think Big Bang has released to date. The piano sequence is gorgeous and I love the really subtle harmonies that are present throughout the entire song. I’ve noticed that in Big Bang’s Japanese tracks, Daesung and Seungri tend to get bigger vocal parts compared to what they sing in their Korean songs. Here, the verses and chorus are split evenly between the three which is great because it’s always nice to hear the mix of all three voices.

Heaven

Heaven is another one of my favorite Big Bang songs.  I like that they mixed it up a little up with this song in that there is more rap than vocals. Heaven came out before TOP and GD’s album, so it was nice to hear them get a little more time to rap.

 

Let Me Hear Your Voice

I love this track. Let Me Hear Your Voice has this really inspirational and ethereal sound to it. I think this is due to both the tone of all three vocalists and also the really cool synths in the background. Also, Daesung sounds absolutely fantastic in this track.

Stupid Liar

Stupid Liar is one of my favorite up beat songs by Big Bang. I normally wouldn’t think of Big Bang singing pop rock, but hey, they’re Big Bang, they can sing whatever they want and still sound amazing. Also, the live performance of Stupid Liar is great.

Tell Me Goodbye

Looking back at this list, I think I’m just a sucker for the combination of Big Bang and awesome piano intros J This track is really beautiful, but in a really simple and quiet type of way. The instrumentals and backing vocals are nothing out of the ordinary, but they really showcase the poignancy of the vocals and rapping. Also, Daesung’s part of the chorus=absolute perfection

Love Song

I think Love Song was my favorite songs off of Big Bang’s newest album. It’s great to hear the group verge off into a different musical territory from what they’re used to doing. Love Song just proves that Big Bang is one of those groups who can succeed in almost every genre of music. Also, G-Dragon and T.O.P singing?  That seriously made my day when I first heard it. If you have not done so already, check out the gorgeous MV for this song.

Sunset Glow

Originally sung by Lee Moon Sa, Big Bang put a new twist on the fun track. It’s a bouncy, summer song that always seems to lift my mood. The MV is hilarious so check it out above.

A Fool’s Only Tears

This track is such a vocal showcase for Big Bang. Fool’s Only Tears is one song where I think every one of the vocalists shine their brightest. All of the ad-libs (especially Dae Sung’s) are so in-sync with each other and I don’t think I’ve ever heard Seung Ri sound this good in any other songs.  In the future, I hope that Big Bang releases more R&B tracks like Fool’s Only Tears.

Lies

As the song that really brought Big Bang to the stardom, Lies has to be one of my all-time favorite Big Bang songs. It was actually the first Big Bang song that I ever heard. At first, I was really impressed with the contrast between the gorgeous piano melody and the G-Dragon’s on-point rapping. I then fell in love with Taeyang’s voice, and after that, it was history. J

Temi

Leave a Reply

