Allergic Reaction to…Celebrities?

12 Nov

Have you ever had that feeling where you are immediately turned off from a whole movie/song/commercial/product the moment you saw someone in it that you didn’t like?

For example, every time I see Hilary Swank in a movie, I’m immediately aghast regardless of the quality of the film. Even if it was the best damn movie in the world according to other people, I wouldn’t be able to stand it. Seeing her makes me not want to see the rest of the film.

In the Korean entertainment industry, I’ve only developed one allergy so far. I’m allergic to Goo Hye Sun. Yes, this will be another post about how much I hate her character Geum Jan Di from Boys over Flowers, but it’s relevant to my post I swear.

I was trying to watch “The Musical” this week but I found it hard to sit through episode 1 without feeling suffocated, itchy, or annoyed. Seeing Goo Hye Sun onscreen makes me cringe. She has the same acting problems that she did in Boys over Flowers; namely, her affinity for exaggerating her character’s facial expressions and her affinity for blank almost idiotic stares.

Gah. I might have liked the show but not with her in it. Geum Jan Di lives to kill another show.

I’m sure other people have allergic reactions to actors or singers too. You should tell me who and why you’re allergic to them.

–Clarence

6 Responses to “Allergic Reaction to…Celebrities?”

  1. choisunfan November 12, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    I think you’re just a fangirl who hates celebrity if you don’t like a celebrity. I bet you still watch BOF until the end because you can describe Jandi’s acting or face expression. You said you couldn’t stand her in BOF so why went to see her again in her Musical??? I think you’re pathetic!
    Oh by the way, she has two upcoming dramas in January 2012, Please Captain and her Taiwan drama Absolute Darling. Just in case you want to see her dramas AGAIN, please don’t forget to take an anti- allergic or anti-biotic pills after watching Goo hye sun’s dramas so you won’t get sick and annoyed. Enjoy!

    • dramapop November 13, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

      This seriously made me LOL. Thanks. I may not be a fan of hers at all but that’s not without reason. I’m sorry if I offended your feelings with my post but I am entitled to write whatever I want and if you think that’s pathetic then that’s up to you. Regardless, I saw The Musical for reasons that have little to do with Goo Hye Sun. 1) I’m interested in the musical concept of it; 2) I’ve heard a few good songs; and 3) I missed Heartstrings (somewhat). Goo Hye Sun just happened to be in the show. Nevertheless, I would have not been as mean as I am had she improved her acting. But since I didn’t see any improvement, I was just turned off. It’s quite sad that I can’t like her here considering the show is pretty good when she’s not in the picture. It’s even worse because I actually liked her at the beginning of Boys over Flowers, right before she got too stiff and one-note.

      Oh by the way, yes I actually did finish Boys over Flowers. That’s just the nature of drama. You love to watch what you hate.

  2. choisunfan November 13, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Peace! I just don’t know why GHS is the most favorite one to talk about when it comes to acting. You can mention other Korean celebs like Kim Tae hee, Song hye kyo etc etc, they are not that great too! Well I guess its good for her because after almost 3 years of absence in dramas, people still talk about her. (good or bad) Thanks for creating this blog! 🙂

    Anyway, Although I dislike some celebrities, I don’t have any allergic reactions to them. I believe the portrayal of the character is up to the actors interpretation, possibly with the help of of the crew/director depending on the directors degree of involvement. An actor read the script/story and analyzing how this character would behave, what mannerisms and gestures would she have while saying each line.

  3. aileen November 15, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    your allergic to GHS, well you have to bear it for the rest of your live coz that’s what allergy does. i hope the all part of your body will swell and itchy every time you watch GHS drama.

  4. Alice November 16, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    Nicholas Cage. I just can’t connect to his character EVER. Also, his….well, his looks. His looks just REALLY turn me off.

  5. Alice November 16, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    I grew fond of Yoo Seung Ho by watching his acting in Warrior Baek Dong Soo, but I have a friend that can’t stand him! She told me that whenever she sees him on screen, she gets a strong urge to punch him in the face. lol

Leave a Reply

