College Diary #16 First Semester=Over

25 Dec

This past week was finals week aka death week. I am not exaggerating when I say I didn’t leave my dorm for 4 days straight. I ordered Chinese food every night and ate leftovers for every breakfast and lunch. Just to put my suffering in context, I went through 2 sets of AAA batteries in my calculator, 4 legal notepads, an entire eraser, and an entire jar of M&Ms that I stole from the dining hall.

Thankfully, my roommate didn’t have any finals and went home early so I had the room to myself. This allowed me to blast music as loud as I wanted without disturbing her. While studying, my diet wasn’t the most…well-rounded, so I managed to contract a stomach virus and an ear infection at the same time. I was pretty pissed off since I normally don’t get sick very often, and when I do, it’s never anything serious.  The nurse made me stay in the school infirmary for two days, and wouldn’t allow me to study for more than 3 hours at a time. Even though I was grateful for the extra napping time, I don’t think I have ever been more eager to study 🙂

Even though finals week was horrendous, I must say, I really enjoyed by first semester at college. It had its ups and downs, but I think overall, there were more ups. In retrospect, I can say I got a lot of things accomplished in these past few months that I never thought I could do. Here are a few of them:

I went to a KPop concert

I passed math (yes, this is an achievement for me 🙂

I made the Dean’s List

I decided my major (Business Analytics and IT)

I decided my minor (Spanish)

I made some really amazing friends (shoutout to the 2nd floor of Katzy Hall)

I managed to beat out juniors and seniors to win a management consulting case competition

I learned to enjoy hummus

I went to a football game

I had a conversation with a member of Obama’s cabinet

I’m expecting awesome things for next semester, but until then, I’m going make sure I sleep 14 hours every day hehe**

Temi

Leave a Reply

