Top Ten Tuesdays: Top 10 Ten Songs Released In The Past Month

21 Feb

So you probably noticed that the writers here at DramaPop took an extended hiatus just to get adjusted to the new semester. Looking back, I realized I missed out on a whole buttload of great releases. Here are my top ten favorites:

Severely-F.T. Island

I’ve always loved F.T. Island, and it’s a shame that they are so underrated. “Severely” is a masterpiece of a song that really tugs at your heartstrings. While the song itself is amazing, Lee Hong Ki really brings it with his powerful vocals. The group’s past singles have been pretty good, with most of the appeal coming from the vocals. For example, “Hello, Hello” is an okay song by itself, but coupled with Lee Hong Ki’s voice, it’s explosive. “Severely” is a really sweet yet emotional piece complete with perfect harmonies and awesome instrumentals. The track has a hint of a Western soft rock feel to it which is definitely a welcome change in Kpop.

Party Rock ft. Gary and The KOXX-Miryo

Miryo, Gary, and The KOXX in one song?? Mind blown; the track boasts representatives of three of my favorite Korean groups (Brown Eyed Girls, Leessang, and The KOXX). The song itself is really fun and upbeat. This morning, someone on the bus had to ask me to turn it down because I didn’t realize I was blasting it from my headphones 🙂 Even though some of the vocals reminded me of Maroon 5’s “Moves Like Jagger”, the track is something you don’t really hear in Kpop. Miryo, the badass that she is, has some pretty boss parts in this song. I love that’s she doesn’t have the technique of your typical hardcore rapper, but she creates her own distinct style.The electronic feel isn’t overwhelming and enhances the vocals rather than overpowering them. I also love the fact that the song featured Leesang’s Gary ❤ Gary’s rap was super amazing to listen to, especially since you don’t get to hear him rap over pop that often. There are also some great vocals by KOXX lead singer Hyunsong. (If you don’t know who The KOXX are, check them out here)

Tonite, Tonite-Shut Up: Flower Boy Band (Lee Min Ki)

Okay, so I already blogged about this song here, but my iTunes records that I’ve listened to the song 54 times over the past week so that must mean it’s pretty awesome. The song is from the OST of the awesome new drama “Shut Up: Flower Boy Band” which you should definitely check out if you haven’t already. It’s a really eerie, soft rock/indie song that gets me emotionally. The lyrics are especially meaningful and sad if you have watched the first two episodes of the show which is something I totally recommend.

Warrior-B.A.P.

I think we can all agree that these guys are hot. And no, I don’t mean in that kind of way (even though that is valid), I mean that B.A.P. is a group filled with some freaking amazing talent. I haven’t seen such a good debut MV in a long time. We already got a taste of rappers’ Bang Young Gook and Zelo’s talent which impressed viewers worldwide. Let me tell you , the boys lived up to the hype. “Warrior” is badass, grungy, intimidating, and all-round awesome. Besides the crazy raps (especially Zelo’s), the vocalists are up there too. There’s a lot of passion and emotion behind the lyrics without making it too corny. I will never get tired of hearing Young Gook’s unique voice ever. I also love the contrast between his rapping style and Zelo’s; it kind of reminds me of GD and TOP. 🙂 It was definitely a risky move giving all the members the same hairstyle, but I think it makes them stand out. It also gives off a really scary clone vibe since they all dance so well and in sync.

Kiss The Rain-Yiruma

Okay, so maybe this isn’t necessarily KPOP, but it deserves recognition. I personally adore Yiruma (technically, he was the first Korean artist I listened to). His famously beautiful composition, “Kiss the Rain” has been amazingly remade by vocalists Mi and Shin Young Jae (4Men), and rapper Big Tone. I love this rendition of the track. They couldn’t have picked better artists; all three capture the melodic bittersweetness of the song perfectly. I feel like crying listening to this song which is something that doesn’t happen very often. Definitely a keeper.

B2ST-I Knew It

B2ST is slowly becoming one of my favorite artists in KPop. “I Knew It” is a really mellow song that brings out the talents of all the members. I love the chorus of this song the best, the little scoff at the end of the first line is so cute :p Even though B2ST originally hit it big with their really splashy singles such as “Shock” and “Soom”, I feel as though they are at their element with quieter songs like “I Knew It”, “On Rainy Days” and “Fiction”

Sunny Hill- The Grasshopper Song

I already posted about this song here but Sunny Hill has done it yet again. I love how quirky, strange and talented the group is. It’s a great song that has a really awesome folk/pop fusion vibe to it. Definitely check it out if you haven’t already.

MC Sniper

MC SNIPER!!!!! This is my man people haha. Although pretty underrated, MC Sniper is one of the best rappers I have heard to date. I have so many of his songs on my iPod. He hasn’t actually released new music in a while, but the news broke that he is working with Yiruma (ackk!!) to produce his newest album. Yep. I’m excited. Here’s one of my favorite songs by him.

What Is Love-EXO

After all the (extremely unnecessary) hype about EXO, the boys finally released a MV of their single “What Is Love”. And although I hate to admit it, I’m hooked. *Darn you SM with your annoyingly persistent yet extremely effective marketing strategies…* love this song. It has this unique vibe to it (think Mulan) but I can’t even try to hid it, these boys are ta-len-ted. Their voices are nothing short of breathtaking. They could have fooled anyone into thinking they are a group that has been in business for 5+ years. I’m surprised that SM is allowing the good singers to actually, you know, sing instead of hiding them behind the visuals. I don’t necessarily find any of the boys attractive (okay, calm down, don’t shoot me) but man are they talented. I’m looking forward to what they have for us in the future!

Infinite-Troublemaker

And this was just straight up hilarious hehe

Temi

Leave a Reply

