[Mini Review] Jo Kwon’s Big Debut

22 Jun

Hi guys! Sorry for the lack of posts recently. I’ve been mega busy with interviews and other fun things (i.e watching the entire Avatar: Legend of Korra series) for the past few weeks. But I’m back, so everyone rejoice!

In between watching episodes of Legend of Korra, I read the headlines that JYP’s resident diva, Jo Kwon, would be debuting as a soloist this month. I was pretty happy because like the rest of the world, I love Kwonnie and think both he and 2AM could use a little more exposure. Almost everyone has seen Jo Kwon’s alternate persona “Kkap Kwon” (if you haven’t look here and here). But many do not realize the vocal strength that he possesses.

His solo album, I’m Da One, will drop on the 25th, but he released a preview of two songs “Animal” and “Just a Kiss”.

The interesting thing about this album is that he will be releasing two versions of it: the “pop-art” style and the “dark charisma” style. Yeah…okay I’m not sure if that’s supposed to be funny or not.

You can check out the the album trailer here:

I liked the whole Shrek-esque storybook intro. It was cute (despite the skulls) and definitely original in the KPop context. What I didn’t like was the second half of the trailer because was slightly too reminiscent of Big Bang’s Fantastic Baby MV.

Animal ft. Jung Ho Suk

Apparently, Avicii lent a hand in producing Animal, but I’m not really liking the song. It seemed too forced  and manufactured. It’s a great dance track, and the beat is pretty boss, but that’s where the good stuff ends. The excessive English was distracting and this is one song where more backing vocals could improve the song. I felt like the distinction between the vocals and the instrumentals was too great. The rap was cool but not necessary.  Hopefully, the rest of the album will be better.

Just a Kiss

I liked this track a lot better. Jo Kwon is an fantastic ballad singer, but we never get to hear him express himself fully throughout an entire song. The instrumentals and vocals were equally beautiful. I feel as though Just a Kiss is the complete opposite of Animal in every way possible. For certain, the entire album is not going to be ballads, but I would love it if we could get a few more like this one. And just for the record, Jo Kwon’s English skills were much better than I was expecting.

What do you think? Are you ready for Jo Kwon’s debut?

Temi

Leave a Reply

