Top 5 Dramas of 2012 (so far)

8 Aug

Hi Readers!

I just returned from the desolate land of West Virginia, so please forgive me for not blogging for a while. No offense to anyone that lives in that dismal state, but the severe lack of civilization, wifi, and level ground, made me to appreciate my lovely state of New Jersey a lot more.

Anyhoo, I haven’t had much time to catch up on dramas this year but I did find time for 5 remarkable KDramas. I feel like I say this a lot, but these dramas are literally some of the best that I’ve watched ever.

Honerable Mention

  • The Moon that Embraces the Sun-an amazing drama. But unfortunately, historic dramas aren’t my thing.
  • Answer Me 1997-It’s great so far, but I’ve only watched 2 epsides
  • Big-Interesting premise, decent acting, but the storyline was sooooo slow
  • The King 2 Hearts-I was actually going to add this to the list, but I swapped it out for Rooftop Prince

 

 Shut Up Flower Boy Band

 The second installment of the tvN’s  ‘Oh Boy’ series is currently at the top of my Favorite Dramas of All Time list. If a show is able to combine high school angst, adorable bromance, harsh realism, tested friendships, authentic acting, and an amazing soundtrack, then it deserves to be number one. Shut Up Flower Boy Band managed to hit on all my emotions, and even caused me to come out of my academic slump this January.

Despite all the melodramas I’ve watched in my lifetime, I’ve never cried harder than when Lee Min Ki’s character, the band’s “whackjob leader”, died. Every actor expressed their characters in such a genuine and heartfelt way, that I had no choice but to empathize deeply with them. I also liked that the show didn’t focus much on romance as it did on friendship and hardship.

The main loveline was more of a side story, which was an appreciated move since it’s hard to find a drama that doesn’t center on romance. I thoroughly enjoyed every episode of Shut Up Flower Boy Band, so definitely check it out if you haven’t already!

 A Gentleman’s Dignity

I still haven’t watched the last two episodes of A Gentleman’s Dignity, but I’m sure they will impress. What initially interested me about this drama was the “F44” premise. The show follows four successful men in their early forties who are still trying to find true love. The boys/men have been besties since their high school years, and of course, bromance never fails to incur fangirl squeals on my part.

What I love about this drama was the absence of your typical romance angst; the characters constantly reference that they are too old to fall for your typical roadblocks in relationships, and are worldly-wise in their dealings with love. However, each of the main characters trips up on unwieldy obstacles such as age difference, career priority, infidelity, and of course, apparent incompatibility. The show takes on more of a comedic vibe which has me cracking up at almost every point in time. Somewhere in the middle, the story line did get a bit repetitive, but it soon picked up towards the end.

Wild Romance

Wild Romance drama got some embarrassingly low reviews, but I personally think it was a cute and endearing show. The story revolved around an arrogant baseball player who is being harassed by an unknown stalker. He hires a bodyguard (our female protagonist) and eventually falls in love with her. The cute in this show was overwhelming but in a good way.

Even it though played within safe territory of hardworking, tomboyish girl/ annoying, wealthy guy, I liked that the male protagonist had a harrowing backstory that diverged from the norm. Although the actual ending left much to be desired, the show left you with an awesome feel-good vibe.

Rooftop Prince

Rooftop Prince may actually be one of the funniest shows I’ve watched this year. The whole premise is hilarious in that you take a prince and his three friends from the Joseon Era, and transport them to 21st-century Seoul.

Funny times ensue when it turns out that our prince has been reincarnated as a kindhearted chaebol who is currently in a coma. To top it off, prince decides to pass as the chaebol and all sorts of comedic happenings follow.

My favorite aspect of the show was how the four boys became accustomed to modern times and its often ridiculous precepts. JYJ’s Yoochun actually surprised me with his acting; even though he was a bit wooden at times, it fit with his stiff character so it all worked out.

Queen In-Hyun’s Man

To be completely honest, I haven’t actually finished watching this show (actually, I’m only on the third episode), but I can already tell that it’s going to be one of my favorites this year. I read all of the recaps on Dramabeans, but I never had the time to watch the episodes. I personally love all of these time-travelling dramas because it’s so interesting to see what we perceive as normal to be completely foreign to others.

Queen In-Hyun’s Man is one of the better love stories I’ve seen in a while. Both protagonists embodied such a high level of realism and authenticity that I actually felt as though I was going through it with them. It also helped that Yoo Inna and Ji Hyun Woo have remarkable chemistry together (and are actually dating! *squeal*)

It’s been a great year so far for dramas, and I’m definitely excited for rest of them this year

What are your favorite dramas of 2012?

Temi

5 Responses to “Top 5 Dramas of 2012 (so far)”

  1. KyungMi August 9, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    Ghost was/is my favorite kdrama of all time. Pity it ends tomorrow but that show kept me on the edge every second. What I absolutely love about it is that there is no sappy romance and the plot is mainly focused on solving the given case. Oh, and by the second episode, you’re already confused because you have no idea what just happened. + the drama is super educational about computer/cyber space, which I found very interesting. Bonus points for the stunning OST and hot actors. ^^

    I think I’m going to watch To The Beautiful You next but I don’t have high expectations for it. And I’m also going to finish Bridal Mask, another amazing kdrama. (+ a really sexy male lead)

    PS you might want to change your links for the pictures because it says “Look at me, I hotlinked someone’s picture. All I got was this lovely image. Isn’t it gorgeous? I should think twice before hotlinking to other people’s sites without permission, huh?” lol

  2. Azerjaban October 21, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Second the Bridal Mask comment- heart pumping excellent acting super good drama.

    I just finished Arang and the Magistrate and it was pretty good- you caould NEVER figure out anything, they really kept audiences guessing and their fantasy world was very well thought out and written- plus Lee Jun Ki back from 2yrs in military! squeel!!!

    I watched SUFBB because of your review and I was SHOCKED at the end of episode 2 like wah? I didn’t know Lee MinKi was just making a cameo and thought he was the lead- took me completely by surprise. I watched and LOVED the first 7 episodes but then jst read dramabeans recaps as my heart couldn’t stand to see the boys in angst.

  3. Cindy November 1, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    I will swap TK2H for RTP anytime. It was awesome. Second in my list will be The Chaser.

    • Cindy November 1, 2012 at 3:18 am #

      Oops, just to clarify I meant TK2H was awesome. No 1 on my list.

    • Cindy November 1, 2012 at 3:29 am #

      I actually meant that I will swap RTP for TK2H. TK2H is my fave drama so far in 2012.

Leave a Reply

